Florida Legislators Honored for Defending Term Limits

U.S. Term Limits issued the following announcement on Oct. 24.

This past week nearly 20 members of the Florida Legislature were presented with the U.S. Term Limits Champion of Term Limits Award for signing the U.S. Term Limits pledge to protect eight-year term limits for legislators, which were approved by over 76 percent of Florida voters in 1992. New recipients of the award include: Joe Casello, Chuck Clemons, Nick DiCeglie, Juan-Fernandez Barquin, Travis Hutson, Tommy Gregory, Michael Grieco, Joe Gruters, Evan Jenne, Shevrin Jones, Stan McClain, Chris Latvala, Ralph Massullo, Will Robinson, Charlie Stone, Jennifer Webb, Matt Willhite and Tom Wright.

These new recipients join 25 past recipients of the honor, bringing the total number of term limits champions in the legislature to 43.

The U.S. Term Limits pledge is provided to all candidates and members of the Florida Legislature. It reads: “I pledge to take no action that would aid or abet the abolition or lengthening of term limits to which elected officials in Florida are subject.”

U.S. Term Limits President Philip Blumel exclaimed, “The Florida Legislature continues to lead the country in not just establishing but preserving eight-year term limits. This record number of pledge signers represent a vibrant and diverse coalition of bipartisan members that through their courage, have ensured that the will of Florida voters shall never be thwarted.”

U.S. Term Limits has long opposed any efforts to lengthen or abolish Florida’s eight-year term limits. In 2006, U.S. Term Limits was instrumental in defeating a proposed ballot question which would have lengthened term limits from 8 years to 12. Due to immense public pressure from Florida voters and U.S. Term Limits to remove the question, the Legislature ultimately saved term limits by voting to take the proposition off the 2006 ballot.

Looking forward, U.S. Term Limits plans to be very active in pursuing a constitutional amendment adding eight-year term limits to all school board members in Florida.

A full and current list of incumbent members of the state legislature that have signed the Defender Pledge are: Ben Albritton, Dennis Baxley, Aaron Bean, Melony Bell, Cord Byrd, Mike Caruso, Joe Casello, Chuck Clemons, Nick DiCeglie, Byron Donalds, Dane Eagle, Anna Eskamani, Juan-Fernandez Barquin, Randy Fine, Jason Fischer, Ed Hooper, Travis Hutson, Tommy Gregory, Michael Grieco, Joe Gruters, Evan Jenne, Shevrin Jones, Stan McClain, Chip LaMarca, Chris Latvala, Ralph Massullo, Debbie Mayfield, Toby Overdorf, Cary Pigman, Rene Plascencia, Mel Ponder, Spencer Roach, Will Robinson, Bob Rommel, Rick Roth, Anthony Sabatini, Tyler Sirois, David Smith, Charlie Stone, Geraldine Thompson, Jennifer Webb, Matt Willhite and Tom Wright.

Original source can be found here.

Want to get notified whenever we write about U.S. Term Limits ?

Sign-up Next time we write about U.S. Term Limits, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

U.S. Term Limits

More News

Metro Business Network